Funding Smarter, More Humane Solutions

The Scientific Landscape is Changing

As an ever-increasing number of scientists across all disciplines arbecoming mindful of the inadequacies of animal experimentationNAVS is leading the way to a new, humane future.

Providing Critical Funding

Excited by the promise of modern science and technology, NAVS seeks out opportunities for funding smarter and more humane solutions that can provide safer and more effective answers to human health needs. 

Through the International Foundation for Ethical Research (IFER), NAVS provides critical funding to early career researchers with an interest in developing innovative alternatives to animal experiments. In doing so, NAVS and IFER hope to seed the scientific field with talented individuals prepared to integrate scientific discovery with ethics and respect for animals. 

NAVS provides support and positive incentives to these scientists, and partners with national and international efforts to implement new methodologies that replace the use of animals in science 

NAVS founded IFER in 1985 and to date has enabled it to award grants totaling more than one million dollars. 

Each year, IFER Graduate Fellowships are awarded to promising young scientists who are developing alternatives to the use of animals in science. These one-year grants of up to $15,000 each are renewable annually for up to three years. 

Graduate Fellowship recipients have the potential to positively change the course of science by working to promote the advancement of humane and human-relevant methodologies that can spare animal suffering. 

Recent IFER Graduate Fellowship recipients have conducted their work at some of North America’s most prestigious institutions, including Harvard University, Johns Hopkins University, the University of British Columbia and the University of California. 

More information on the IFER Graduate Fellowship Program can be found at

Current Fellowship Recipients

Kaihua Chloe Chen

Kaihua (Chloe) Chen

University of Rochester,
Rochester, New York
Jason Eades

Jason Eades

Texas A&M University,
College Station, Texas
Prashant Hariharan

Prashant Hariharan

Wayne State University,
Detroit, Michigan
Alan Kim

Alan Kim

Johns Hopkins University,
Baltimore, Maryland
Katharina Kroll

Katharina Kroll

Harvard University,
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Xingrui Mou

Xingrui Mou

Duke University, Durham,
North Carolina
Yansong Harry Peng

Yansong (Harry) Peng

Cornell University,
Ithaca, New York
Divya Subramannian

Divya Subramanian

The University of Texas at Dallas,
Richardson, Texas
Nuria Vilarnau

Nuria Vilarnau

Karolinska Institute,
Stockholm, Sweden